Awareness

Awareness is simply something that’s happening.
It’s not a thing that your mind can hold on to.

~ Adyashanti

After so many words.
Full of rage
and pain.

The silence within me.

I don’t remember
how to be
at home.

I ought not say
“Don’t remember.”

I know
more than I want to admit.

It just seems easier
sometimes
to be distracted
than to
listen
to
myself.

And trust
what is left
unfolding,
tender and worn,
still feral
after all these years
of trying to be tamed.

Searching for new words
to hold that which remains unspoken.

©2016 Chris Paige. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

