Wilderness

I had no words
To explain
The strange that lie within me

No semblance
Of a vision for a future that could
Hold me

Better Spirits must have
Kept me through so much
Rage and desperation

Lost
In a foreign land

 

My ability to
Occupy my Self
Slips through my fingers

Moments of possession
Filled with clarity and strength
Leave me

Stranger to myself
Grasping
At emptiness

To make sense out of me
Oddly unfamiliar

 

Trapped just this side
Of knowing
How to be
Whole

Witness to my own expansive
Wilderness

They still
Welcome me
In

Angels of my own Imagination
Keepers of the Wisdom
Invitation to Be more

©2016 Chris Paige. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

